YA author event with Victoria Lee, Ashley Poston, and Kaitlyn Sage Patterson

Parnassus Books is thrilled to present a panel discussion with three amazing YA authors: Victoria Lee, Ashley Poston, and Kaitlyn Sage Patterson! Read on for important event guidelines, as well as more information about the authors and their books.

Event Guidelines

This event is free and open to the public. In order to join the signing line to have books brought from home signed at this event, please purchase a copy of The Fever King from Parnassus Books, either in-store, over the phone, or online (scroll down). The Fever King will be published on Friday, March 1.

The best way to support an author featured at a Parnassus event, as well as to support Parnassus for hosting the author and the event, is to purchase the author's new book from Parnassus. Your purchase also demonstrates to publishers that they should continue sending authors to Parnassus and to Nashville. 

Video recording, audio recording, and/or live-streaming during author appearances and signings is not possible without prior written permission from the publisher and Parnassus Books.

Can't make it to the event, but still want to purchase an autographed or personalized book? Place your order below, enter "signed copy" plus any personalization details in the comments section of your order, and we'll have the author sign your books and ship them to you after the event!

More about Victoria Lee and The Fever King

In the former United States, sixteen-year-old Noam Álvaro wakes up in a hospital bed, the sole survivor of the viral magic that killed his family and made him a technopath. His ability to control technology attracts the attention of the minister of defense and thrusts him into the magical elite of the nation of Carolinia.

The son of undocumented immigrants, Noam has spent his life fighting for the rights of refugees fleeing magical outbreaks--refugees Carolinia routinely deports with vicious efficiency. Sensing a way to make change, Noam accepts the minister's offer to teach him the science behind his magic, secretly planning to use it against the government. But then he meets the minister's son--cruel, dangerous, and achingly beautiful--and the way forward becomes less clear.

Caught between his purpose and his heart, Noam must decide who he can trust and how far he's willing to go in pursuit of the greater good.

Victoria Lee grew up in Durham, North Carolina, where she spent twelve ascetic years as a vegetarian before discovering that spicy chicken wings are, in fact, a delicacy. She's been a state finalist competitive pianist, a hitchhiker, a pizza connoisseur, an EMT, an expat in China and Sweden, and a science doctoral student. She's also a bit of a snob about fancy whiskey. Lee writes early in the morning and then spends the rest of the day trying to impress her border collie puppy and make her experiments work. She currently lives in Pennsylvania with her partner.

More about Ashley Poston and Heart of Iron

Heart of Iron is an action-packed tale full of romance, royalty, and adventure, inspired by the story of Anastasia, perfect for fans of Six of Crows, Cinder, and the cult classic television show Firefly.

Seventeen-year-old Ana is a scoundrel by nurture and an outlaw by nature. Found as a child drifting through space with a sentient android called D09, Ana was saved by a fearsome space captain and the grizzled crew she now calls family. But D09--one of the last remaining illegal Metals--has been glitching, and Ana will stop at nothing to find a way to fix him.

Ana's desperate effort to save D09 leads her on a quest to steal the coordinates to a lost ship that could offer all the answers. But at the last moment, a spoiled Ironblood boy beats Ana to her prize. He has his own reasons for taking the coordinates, and he doesn't care what he'll sacrifice to keep them.

When everything goes wrong, she and the Ironblood end up as fugitives on the run. Now their entire kingdom is after them--and the coordinates--and not everyone wants them captured alive.

What they find in a lost corner of the universe will change all their lives--and unearth dangerous secrets. But when a darkness from Ana's past returns, she must face an impossible choice: does she protect a kingdom that wants her dead or save the Metal boy she loves?

Ashley Poston is the author of Geekerella and Heart of Iron. When she’s not inventing new recipes with peanut butter, having passionate dance-offs with her cat, or geeking out all over the internet, she writes books. She lives in small-town South Carolina, where you can see the stars impossibly.

More about Kaitlyn Sage Patterson and The Diminished

In the Alskad Empire, nearly all are born with a twin, two halves to form one whole ... yet some face the world alone. 

The singleborn: A rare few are singleborn in each generation, and therefore given the right to rule by the gods and goddesses. Bo Trousillion is one of these few, born into the royal line and destined to rule. Though he has been chosen to succeed his great-aunt, Queen Runa, as the leader of the Alskad Empire, Bo has never felt equal to the grand future before him. 

The diminished: When one twin dies, the other usually follows, unable to face the world without their other half. Those who survive are considered diminished, doomed to succumb to the violent grief that inevitably destroys everyone whose twin has died. 

Such is the fate of Vi Abernathy, whose twin sister died in infancy. Raised by the anchorites of the temple after her family cast her off, Vi has spent her whole life scheming for a way to escape and live out what's left of her life in peace. As their sixteenth birthdays approach, Bo and Vi face very different futures--one a life of luxury as the heir to the throne, the other years of backbreaking work as a temple servant. But a long-held secret and the fate of the empire are destined to bring them together in a way they never could have imagined. 

Kaitlyn Sage Patterson grew up with her nose in a book outside the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. After completing her M.F.A., she moved to South Korea, where she taught English and started writing her debut novel.

Event date: 
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
Parnassus Books
3900 Hillsboro Pike, Suite 14
Nashville, TN 37215
The Fever King Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781542040174
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Skyscape - March 2019

Heart of Iron Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062652850
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 27th, 2018

The Diminished Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781335016416
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harlequin Teen - April 10th, 2018