YA author event with Lily Anderson and Ashley Herring Blake

Parnassus Books is thrilled to welcome critically acclaimed authors Lily Anderson and Ashley Herring Blake for a discussion and signing of their highly anticipated new novels, Undead Girl Gang, Girl Made of Stars, and Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World, on Friday, May 18 at 6:30pm. Read on for more information about the event, the authors, and their new books!

This event is part of the Parnassus Summer Bookout! Pick up your Summer Bookout entry card at Parnassus Books any time starting Friday, May 18. Attend five or more eligible events and have a bookseller punch your card while you’re at each event. Once your card has been punched five times, fill in your name and contact info and return it to Parnassus. You’ll be entered to win one of three incredible prize package, full of surprises, special bookish items, and signed books. All raffle entries are due to Parnassus by Saturday, June 30th, at 8pm. The raffle winners will be drawn and announced Sunday, July 1, by 12pm. For complete information, including the full menu of Parnassus Summer Bookout events, click here!

Event Guidelines

This event is free and open to the public. To join the signing line and have books signed by the author at this event, please consider purchasing your copies of Undead Girl GangGirl Made of Stars, and Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World from Parnassus Books, either in-store, over the phone, or online (scroll down). By purchasing your book from Parnassus, you are not only supporting a locally owned, independent business, but you are also showing publishers that they should continue sending authors to Parnassus.

Video recording, audio recording, and/or live-streaming during author appearances and signings is not possible without prior written permission from the publisher and Parnassus Books.

Can't make it to the event, but still want to purchase an autographed or personalized book? Place your order below, enter "signed copy" plus any personalization details in the comments section of your order, and we'll have the author sign your books and ship them to you after the event!

More about Undead Girl Gang

Meet teenage Wiccan Mila Flores, who truly could not care less what you think about her Doc Martens, her attitude, or her weight, because she knows that, no matter what, her BFF Riley is right by her side.

So when Riley and Fairmont Academy mean girls June Phelan-Park and Dayton Nesseth die under suspicious circumstances, Mila refuses to believe everyone's explanation that her BFF was involved in a suicide pact. Instead, armed with a tube of lip gloss and an ancient grimoire, Mila does the unthinkable to uncover the truth: she brings the girls back to life.

Unfortunately, Riley, June, and Dayton have no recollection of their murders. But they do have unfinished business to attend to. Now, with only seven days until the spell wears off and the girls return to their graves, Mila must wrangle the distracted group of undead teens and work fast to discover their murderer...before the killer strikes again.

More about Lily Anderson

Lily Anderson is a school librarian and Melvil Dewey fangirl with an ever-growing collection of musical theater tattoos and Harry Potter ephemera. She lives in Northern California. She is also the author of The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You and Not Now, Not Ever

More about Girl Made of Stars

For readers of who loved Girl in Pieces and The Way I Used to Be comes an emotionally gripping story about facing hard truths in the aftermath of sexual assault. 

Mara and Owen are as close as twins can get, so when Mara's friend Hannah accuses Owen of rape, Mara doesn't know what to think. Can her brother really be guilty of such a violent act? Torn between her family and her sense of right and wrong, Mara feels lost, and it doesn't help that things are strained with her ex-girlfriend, Charlie. As Mara, Hannah, and Charlie come together in the aftermath of this terrible crime, Mara must face a trauma from her own past and decide where Charlie fits into her future. With sensitivity and openness, this timely novel confronts the difficult questions surrounding consent, victim blaming, and sexual assault.

More about Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World

In the wake of a destructive tornado, one girl develops feelings for another in this stunning, tender novel about emerging identity, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish

When a tornado rips through town, twelve-year-old Ivy Aberdeen's house is destroyed and her family of five is displaced. Ivy feels invisible and ignored in the aftermath of the storm--and what's worse, her notebook filled with secret drawings of girls holding hands has gone missing. 

Mysteriously, Ivy's drawings begin to reappear in her locker with notes from someone telling her to open up about her identity. Ivy thinks--and hopes--that this someone might be her classmate, another girl for whom Ivy has begun to develop a crush. Will Ivy find the strength and courage to follow her true feelings? 

More about Ashley Herring Blake

Ashley Herring Blake used to write songs and now she writes books, including Suffer Love and How to Make a Wish. Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World is her debut middle grade novel. She reads them a lot too and has been known to stare wistfully at her bookshelves. She lives in Nashville with her husband and two sons. 

Event date: 
Friday, May 18, 2018 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
Parnassus Books
3900 Hillsboro Pike, Suite 14
Nashville, TN 37215
Undead Girl Gang Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780451478238
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill - May 8th, 2018

Girl Made of Stars Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328778239
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - May 15th, 2018

Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316515467
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2018