Virtual Event: Natalie Standiford, author of Astrid Sees All, in conversation with Ann Powers

Parnassus Books is excited to welcome Natalie Standiford, author of Astrid Sees All, in conversation with Ann Powers.

This is a virtual event which will take place on the Parnassus Books Facebook page.

The conversation will occur on Tuesday, April 20th at 6:00pm Central time.

After the live talk has ended, the video will be archived on the Parnassus Books Facebook page under Videos.

About the Book

New York's last bohemia-the glittering, decadent downtown club scene of the 1980s-is the setting for this brilliantly winning novel about a smart, vulnerable young woman taking a deep dive into her dark side, essential for fans of Sweetbitter, Fleabag, and books by Patti Smith.

New York, 1984: Twenty-two-year-old Phoebe Hayes is a young woman in search of excitement and adventure. But the recent death of her father has so devastated her that her mother wants her to remain home in Baltimore to recover. Phoebe wants to return to New York, not only to chase the glamorous life she so desperately craves but also to confront Ivan, the older man who painfully wronged her. With her best friend Carmen, she escapes to the East Village, disappearing into an underworld haunted by artists, It Girls, and lost souls trying to party their pain away. Carmen juggles her junkie-poet boyfriend and a sexy painter while, as Astrid the Star Girl, Phoebe tells fortunes in a nightclub and plots her revenge on Ivan. When the intoxicating brew of sex, drugs, and self-destruction leads Phoebe to betray her friend, Carmen disappears, and Phoebe begins an unstoppable descent into darkness. She may have a chance to save herself-and Carmen, if she can find her-but to do it she must face what's hiding in the shadows she's been running from-within her heart and in the dangerous midnight streets. A love letter to gritty 1980s New York City, Astrid Sees All is an irresistible, original novel about female friendship, sex and romance, and what it's like to be a young woman searching for an identity

About the Author

Natalie Standiford was born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland, and studied Russian language and literature at Brown University and in the former Soviet Union. She has written many books for children and teens, including How to Say Goodbye in RobotThe Secret Tree; and Confessions of the Sullivan Sisters. Her book reviews and essays have appeared in The New York TimesThe Washington Post, and The Los Angeles Review of Books. She lives with her husband in New York City, where she occasionally plays bass in rock bands with other restless writers. Find out more at NatalieStandiford.com.

About Ann Powers

Ann Powers is NPR Music's critic and correspondent and the Nashville correspondent for WXPN’s World Café. She writes for NPR's music news blog, The Record, and she can be heard on NPR's newsmagazines and music programs. She is the author of Good Booty: Love and Sex, Black and White, Body and Soul in American Music (2017), which was selected as one of the best books of 2017 by the Wall Street Journal, No Depression, NPR, and Buzzfeed. Powers also co-wrote Tori Amos: Piece By Piece, with Amos, which was published in 2005. In 1999, Powers’s book Weird Like Us: My Bohemian America was published. She was the editor, with Evelyn McDonnell, of the 1995 book Rock She Wrote: Women Write About Rock, Rap, and Pop and the editor of Best Music Writing 2010. In 2017 she founded Turning the Tables, and ongoing project of NPR to recenter the popular music canon to be more inclusive of marginalized, underestimated and forgotten voices. The first season of the series won a Gracie Award for Best Blog. She lives in Nashville with her husband, the writer Eric Weisbard, their daughter Bebe, and their maltipoo Dr. Franknfurter Nietszche Weisbard, and is now at work on a manuscript considering the life and work of Joni Mitchell.

Event date: 
Tuesday, April 20, 2021 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
Parnassus Books
3900 Hillsboro Pike Suite 14
Nashville, TN 37215
Staff Pick Badge
Astrid Sees All: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982153656
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - April 6th, 2021