IN STORE: Jill McCorkle, author of Old Crimes

Parnassus Books is pleased to welcome Jill McCorkle to celebrate her new short story collection, Old Crimes.

This is a free event which will take place IN STORE on Tuesday, January 23rd at 6:30pm Central Time. Because space will be limited, registration is required to attend this event. Please register for free by filling out the form below! (Note: If for any reason you need to cancel your registration, please call the store at 615-953-2243 at least 24 hours before the event so your space can be provided to another guest.) Masks are strongly encouraged during this event.

About the Book

Beloved author Jill McCorkle delivers a collection of masterful stories that are as complex as novels--deeply perceptive, funny, and tragic in equal measure--about crimes large and small.

McCorkle, author of the New York Times bestselling Life After Life and the widely acclaimed Hieroglyphics ("One of our wryest, warmest, wisest storytellers" --Rebecca Makkai), brings us a breathtaking collection of stories that offers an intimate look at the moments when a person's life changes forever.

Old Crimes delves into the lives of characters who hold their secrets and misdeeds close, even as the past continues to reverberate over time and across generations. And despite the characters' yearnings for connection, they can't seem to tell the whole truth. In "Low Tones," a woman uses her hearing impairment as a way to guard herself from her husband's commentary. In "Lineman," a telephone lineman strains to connect to his family even as he feels pushed aside in a digital world. In "Confessional," a young couple buys a confessional booth for fun, only to discover the cost of honesty.

Profoundly moving and unforgettable, for fans of Alice Munro, Elizabeth Strout, and Lily King, the stories in Old Crimes reveal why McCorkle has long been considered a master of the form, probing lives full of great intensity, longing and affection, and deep regret.

About the Author

Jill McCorkle has the distinction of having published her first two novels on the same day in 1984. Of these novels, the New York Times Book Review said: "one suspects the author of The Cheer Leader is a born novelist. With July 7th, she is also a full grown one." Since then she has published five other novels--most recently, Hieroglyphics--and four collections of short stories. Five of her books have been named New York Times notable books and four of her stories have appeared in Best American Short Stories. McCorkle has received the New England Booksellers Award, the John Dos Passos Prize for Excellence in Literature, the North Carolina Award for Literature and the Thomas Wolfe Prize; she was recently inducted into the NC Literary Hall of Fame. McCorkle has taught at Harvard, Brandeis, and NC State where she remains affiliated with the MFA Program in creative writing and she is core faculty in the Bennington Writing Seminars.

Event date: 
Tuesday, January 23, 2024 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
Parnassus Books
3900 Hillsboro Pike Suite 14
Nashville, TN 37215

Registration: Jill McCorkle

All fields marked with '*' denotes mandatory fields
(Your email will be used to send you a reminder about the event)
(Comments or questions about the event? Let us know)
Books: 
Old Crimes: and Other Stories By Jill McCorkle Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781616209735
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - January 9th, 2024