Author event with Margaret Verble author of Cherokee America

Parnassus Books is thrilled to welcome Margaret Verble author of Cherokee America.

Perfect for fans of Louise Erdrich and Paulette Jiles, Verble’s sweeping novel follows a web of complex family alliances and culture clashes in the Cherokee Nation during the aftermath of the Civil War, and the unforgettable woman at its center.

It’s the early spring of 1875, and Cherokee America Singer, “Check,” a wealthy farmer, mother of five unruly boys, and soon-to-be widow, is not amused. Her hired hand has gone missing, and so has her horse, a gun, and the town’s preacher. Check's even more vexed when her second son, Hugh, is caught in compromising situation that suddenly erupts in violence. When a man is killed and another person goes missing in the pandemonium, Check is forced to contend with her mixed-race family’s tangled roots and solve a crime the whole town may be complicit in.

Based loosely on the lives of real people, meticulously researched, and authored by a Western Cherokee, Cherokee America is chock-full of hope, humor, and heart in its exploration of how we reconcile identity and place, and how we shape and inhabit the stories of our past

Margaret Verble is an enrolled citizen of the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma. Her first novel, Maud's Line, was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. She lives in Lexington, Kentucky.

Event date: 
Sunday, March 31, 2019 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
Parnassus Books
3900 Hillsboro Pike Suite 14
Nashville, TN 37215
Cherokee America Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781328494221
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - February 19th, 2019