Wine with the Author event with Daphne Kalotay - Author of Russian Winter

Please join us in welcoming Daphne Kalotay for a discussion and signing of her new book Sight Reading.  For readers who loved Bel Canto, Three Junes, and The Hours...
On a warm spring day after a long New England winter, Hazel and Remy spot each other for the first time in years. Under ordinary circumstances, this meeting might seem insignificant. But Remy, a gifted violinist, is married to the Scottish composer Nicholas Elko--once the love of Hazel' s life, now struggling with a masterwork he cannot realize. In the twenty years since Hazel' s world was tipped on its axis, these three artists have faced unexpected joys, mysterious afflictions and other puzzles of life, their fates irrevocably interlaced.

As their story unfolds across two decades, moving from Europe to America and from conservatory life to the Boston Symphony Orchestra, this moving novel explores how the desire to create something real and true--be it a work of art or one's own life--can lead to deeper personal revelations, including the secrets we keep, even from ourselves. Lyrical and evocative, Sight Reading asks questions about what makes a family, about the importance of art and beauty in daily life, and about the role of intuition in both the creative process and the evolution of the self.

About Wine with the Author:

Wine with the Author is a special series offered through the partnership of Parnassus Books and The Wine Shoppe at Green Hills. Check back for more Wine with the Author events!

Event date: 
Tuesday, June 11, 2013 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
3900 Hillsboro Pike
37215 Nashville
us
Books: 
Sight Reading: A Novel By Daphne Kalotay Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062246936
Availability: Availability to be confirmed
Published: Harper - May 21st, 2013