Author event with Caroline Louise Walker author of Man of the Year

Parnassus Books is thrilled to welcome Caroline Louise Walker author of Man of the Year

Man of the Year, is a sophisticated, sharply observed, edge-of-your seat stunner of a literary debut – perfect for fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door. With compelling characters, wickedly clever twists, and a deadly mystery at its heart, this deft, disquieting novel lays bare the inner conflict of a husband and father who will stop at nothing to protect his family and legacy.

Dr. Robert Hart, newly-honored as Sag Harbor Man of the Year, has long been the envy of his friends and Hamptons neighbors. His medical practice is thriving. He has a beautiful second wife, a sprawling old house, and a meticulously maintained boat floating in the marina. His wayward son, Jonah, is back on track, doing well at school, and finally worthy of his father’s attention. Yet, beneath the trappings of success and seeming sense of calm, danger lurks.

Tensions start to simmer when Robert’s wife, Elizabeth, invites Jonah’s charismatic college roommate, Nick, to stay for the summer. As he perceives the pair getting too close for comfort, Robert’s practiced veneer begins to crack. Both dreading and desiring the truth, he tells a string of little lies that – rather than driving Nick away – leads to a disaster that imperils all he holds dear.

Robert’s ever more paranoid perspective is seamlessly interlaced with the inner thoughts of those around him—his devoted office manager, his no nonsense best friend, his wife with a secret world of her own—to reveal the complex reality just outside of Robert’s tragically narrow gaze.

Man of the Year is a biting and timely look at the friction between image and intimacy, unraveling the question of what’s left when outward accomplishments are stripped away.

Caroline Louise Walker grew up in Rock island, Illinois. For her fiction and nonfiction, she has received fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, the Kerouac Project, and Jentel Arts. She holds a BA from the USC’s School of Dramatic Arts and an MA from NYU.

Event date: 
Thursday, August 8, 2019 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
Parnassus Books
3900 Hillsboro Pike Suite 14
Nashville, TN 37215
Man of the Year Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982100452
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - June 11th, 2019