The Taking of Jake Livingston (Hardcover)

Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability beneath the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243.

Staff Pick Badge
The Taking of Jake Livingston Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
7 on hand, as of Sep 23 10:03pm

Staff Reviews


Fans of Get Out and Sawkill Girls, prepare to meet Jake Livingston. Ryan Douglass' debut is gritty and extremely tough to read at times, but with social issues at the forefront and a hero worth rooting for, The Taking of Jake Livingston is a deep novel that holds back no punches. Douglass takes his readers on an emotional rollercoaster through these horror events — both paranormal and real-life.

— Brad

Description


An Instant New York Times Bestseller

Get Out meets Holly Jackson in this YA social thriller where survival is not a guarantee.

Sixteen-year-old Jake Livingston sees dead people everywhere. But he can't decide what's worse: being a medium forced to watch the dead play out their last moments on a loop or being at the mercy of racist teachers as one of the few Black students at St. Clair Prep. Both are a living nightmare he wishes he could wake up from. But things at St. Clair start looking up with the arrival of another Black student--the handsome Allister--and for the first time, romance is on the horizon for Jake.

Unfortunately, life as a medium is getting worse. Though most ghosts are harmless and Jake is always happy to help them move on to the next place, Sawyer Doon wants much more from Jake. In life, Sawyer was a troubled teen who shot and killed six kids at a local high school before taking his own life. Now he's a powerful, vengeful ghost and he has plans for Jake. Suddenly, everything Jake knows about dead world goes out the window as Sawyer begins to haunt him. High school soon becomes a different kind of survival game--one Jake is not sure he can win.

About the Author


Ryan Douglass was born and raised in Atlanta, Georgia, where he currently resides, cooking pasta and playing records. He enjoys wooden-wick candles, falling asleep on airplanes, and advocating for stronger media representation for queer Black people.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781984812537
ISBN-10: 198481253X
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: July 13th, 2021
Pages: 256
Language: English