Camp Prodigy (Paperback)

**Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability above the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243**

Staff Pick Badge
Camp Prodigy By Caroline Palmer, Caroline Palmer (Illustrator) Cover Image

Camp Prodigy (Paperback)

$12.99


On Our Shelves Now
7 on hand, as of Jul 19 10:06pm
(Children Graphic Novels)

July/August 2024 Kids Indie Next List


“VIOLISTS FOR THE WIN! Camp Prodigy is a wonderfully vibrant and emotive graphic novel that celebrates music and the kids that play it! All about the pressure that we put ourselves under to be the best, making friends, accepting support, and navigating the gender binary.”
— Kimi Loughlin, The Silver Unicorn Bookstore, Acton, MA

Staff Reviews


Tate goes to summer camp to get better at violin. Eli is a well known violinist who has stage fright. The two meet and navigate this music camp together with some friendly competition. They both aim for first chair and the solo at the big final performance. Will their friendship survive this camp or will the stress of the final performance get to them both? I can't recommend this sweet graphic novel enough!

— Chloe

Perfect for fans of Victoria Jamieson and Raina Telgemeier, this heartwarming middle grade graphic novel follows two nonbinary kids who navigate anxiety and identity while having fun and forming friendships at their summer orchestra camp.

After attending an incredible concert, Tate Seong is inspired to become a professional violist. There’s just one problem: they’re the worst musician at their school.

Tate doesn’t even have enough confidence to assert themself with their friends or come out as nonbinary to their family, let alone attempt a solo anytime soon. Things start to look up when Tate attends a summer orchestra camp—Camp Prodigy—and runs into Eli, the remarkable violist who inspired Tate to play in the first place.

But Eli has been hiding their skills ever since their time in the spotlight gave them a nervous breakdown. Together, can they figure out how to turn Tate into a star and have Eli overcome their performance anxieties? Or will the pressure take them both down?
Caroline Palmer is a nonbinary comic creator who tells action-packed stories with heart. Visit them at CarolinePalmerComics.Weebly.com.

Caroline Palmer is a nonbinary comic creator who tells action-packed stories with heart. Visit them at CarolinePalmerComics.Weebly.com.
Product Details ISBN: 9781665930376
ISBN-10: 1665930373
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 11th, 2024
Pages: 256
Language: English
“Tate’s journey of gender discovery is delicately wrought and joyfully celebrated without major conflict. Bold, jewel-toned, manga-style illustrations propel the story forward with movement and expression...An immersive and affirming story that hits the right notes.”
— Kirkus Reviews

"Palmer employs cartoon-style illustrations alongside lessons surrounding individuality and teamwork to craft an effervescent and affirming debut graphic novel about contending with expectations and anxiety while cultivating an authentic sense of self."
— Publishers Weekly