The Impossible First: An Explorer's Race Across Antarctica (Young Readers Edition) (Paperback)

Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability beneath the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243.

Staff Pick Badge
The Impossible First: An Explorer's Race Across Antarctica (Young Readers Edition) Cover Image
$11.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


In this modern adventure story, Colin O'Brady sets out to be the first person to make a solo unsupported crossing of Antarctica, calling it The Impossible First. The science of his harrowing journey is fascinating, from the art of high performance in below-zero to live geo-tracking. This memoir is an ode to the soul of the explorer and what it takes to do what has never been done before.

— Keltie

Description


In this Young Readers Edition of Impossible First—perfect for fans of My Shot by Elena Delle Donne and Shaken by Tim Tebow—Colin O’Brady vividly recounts his fifty-four-day, unsupported, record-shattering solo crossing of Antarctica using every ounce of his strength, years of training, and sheer force of will.

Prior to December 2018, no individual had ever crossed the landmass of Antarctica alone, without support, and completely human-powered. But Colin O’Brady was determined to do just that—even though ten years earlier a tragic accident raised doubts that he’d ever walk again normally.

O’Brady’s quest drew him into a head-to-head battle with British SAS Captain Louis Rudd—also striving to be “the first.” Enduring Antarctica’s sub-zero temperatures and pulling a sled that initially weighed 375 pounds—in complete isolation and through a succession of whiteouts, storms, and a series of near disasters—O’Brady journeyed 932 miles to a world’s first. Honest, deeply moving, filled with moments of vulnerability—and set against the backdrop of some of the most extreme environments on earth, from Mount Everest to Antarctica—The Impossible First reveals how anyone can reject limits, overcome immense obstacles, and discover what matters most.

About the Author


Colin O’Brady is a world record holding explorer whose feats include the world’s first solo, unsupported, and human-powered crossing of Antarctica, speed records for the Explorers Grand Slam and the Seven Summits, and reaching the highest point in all fifty US states in a record-breaking twenty-one days. He and a crew became the world’s first team to row a boat across the treacherous Drake Passage from South America to Antarctica. A Yale graduate, he is a renowned speaker and expert on mindset whose work has inspired millions. Through his nonprofit Beyond 7/2, he uses his expeditions to motivate young people to live active, healthy lives and pursue their biggest dreams. Native of the Pacific Northwest, he now lives in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, with his wife, Jenna Besaw, and dog, Jack. Engage with Colin and his new adventures on social media @ColinOBrady and find out more at ColinOBrady.com. 

Praise For…


"Recommended for school and public libraries serving middle to high schoolers and fans of man-versus-nature adventures."
— School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534461994
ISBN-10: 153446199X
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 7th, 2021
Pages: 304
Language: English