The Collected Stories of Eudora Welty (Compact Disc)

Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability beneath the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243.

The Collected Stories of Eudora Welty Cover Image
By Eudora Welty, Barbara Rosenblat (Read by), Gabra Zackman (Read by)
Availability to be confirmed


One of the truly great works of twentieth-century American literature, Eudora Welty's Collected Stories confirms her place as a contemporary master of short fiction. Welty wrote prolifically over the course of her long career, but the heart and soul of her literary vision lay with the short story. The forty-one pieces reproduced here, written over a period of three decades, include "Petrified Man," "Why I Live at the P.O.," "The Wide Net," and "The Bride of the Innisfallen." "I have been told," Welty writes in the introduction, "both in approval and in accusation, that I seem to love all my characters." The characters that spring to life in this masterwork reveal the depth and breadth of her love.

"The richness of such talent resists a summing up...She is always honest, always just. And she is vastly entertaining. The stories are magnificent." --Maureen Howard, The New York Times Book Review

"Eudora Welty is one of our purest, finest, gentlest voices and this collection is something to be treasured." --Anne Tyler, The Washington Star

"The ironic tenderness of Chekhov, the almost feral edge of Maupassant, the ominousness of Poe and Bierce, the lacy strength of Henry Green. She is probably the finest Mozartian stylist writing in the English language." --Mary Lee Settle, Saturday Review

"The breadth of Welty's offering is finally most visible not in the variety of types--farce, satire, horror, lyric, pastoral, mystery--but in the clarity and solidity and absolute honesty of a lifetime's vision." --Reynolds Price, The New Republic

Product Details
ISBN: 9781455858613
ISBN-10: 1455858617
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Publication Date: November 15th, 2011
Language: English