The Vanderbeekers to the Rescue (Hardcover)

Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability beneath the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243.

Staff Pick Badge
The Vanderbeekers to the Rescue Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
82 on hand, as of Dec 12 5:30am
(Children Fiction)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the The Vanderbeekers series.

Staff Reviews


Karina Yan Glaser has done it again! I have lost count of how many times I’ve recommended the Vanderbeekers series, and I am delighted that there is a third book to give to curious and playful friends who love a good tale. The Vanderbeekers are my favorite family read-aloud books, by far.

— Mary Cady

Description


A New York Times best-selling series! Harlem’s favorite family returns in the third installment in the Vanderbeerkers series, wherein the Vanderbeeker kids find themselves racing to save their mother’s baking business from city closure. Illustrated with delightful black and white illustrations.

For the Vanderbeeker kids of Harlem’s 141st Street, spring break couldn’t be off to a better start. Isa’s back from band camp, Oliver’s building his first-ever treehouse in the backyard of the brownstone, and Laney, Jess, and Hyacinth are excited to help their mother when she gets the once-in-a-lifetime chance to star in a cooking magazine.

But the Vanderbeekers’ plans go off the rails when an unexpected visit from city officials puts their mother’s bakery in jeopardy. Now they’ll have to band together to save the day before they’re out of business. Perfect for fans of The Penderwicks and Front Desk.

About the Author


Karina Glaser is the NYT best-selling author of The Vanderbeekers series. A former teacher and now a contributor to Book Riot, Karina lives in Harlem, New York City with her husband, two daughters, and assortment of rescued animals. One of her proudest achievements is raising two kids who can't go anywhere without a book.

www.karinaglaser.com
Twitter: @KarinaYanGlaser
Instagram: @KarinaIsReadingAndWriting

Praise For…


"THE VANDERBEEKERS TO THE RESCUE is almost a case study in why these kinds of series are so captivating for young readers: Above all, while the happy ending might be a foregone conclusion, there is great satisfaction in seeing how their favorite characters untangle the knot this time.” - The New York Times.

"Once again Glaser produces a charming novel reminiscent of classic and contemporary family story mainstays by Edward Eager, Jeanne Birdsall, and others, but she adds depth with racial diversity, evocative city details, and complex socio-economic issues.... Satisfying as a stand-alone and a welcome return for those who consider the Vanderbeekers part of their own family." —Kirkus

"
Glaser ticks all the boxes of a classic middle-grade ensemble piece....funny, with character-grounded quirkiness, just enough slapstick, and no winking over kids’ heads....The whole thing is a little retro, very welcoming to the reader, and sweet to the core."—Horn Book

"
Glaser manages the large cast of characters with ease.... A satisfying addition to the Vanderbeeker series."—Booklist

 


Product Details
ISBN: 9781328577573
ISBN-10: 1328577570
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 17th, 2019
Pages: 364
Series: The Vanderbeekers