Listen for the Lie: A Novel (Hardcover)

**Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability above the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243**

Staff Pick Badge
Listen for the Lie: A Novel By Amy Tintera Cover Image

Listen for the Lie: A Novel (Hardcover)

$26.99


On Our Shelves Now
9 on hand, as of Apr 16 8:28am
(Fiction Mystery)

March 2024 Indie Next List


“Darkly witty and beautifully thrilling, Listen for the Lie is an amazing adult debut from Amy Tintera. This murder mystery is filled with comedy, drama, and a riveting pace that will make readers fall completely in love!”
— Sara Canelon, Adventures By The Book, San Diego, CA

Staff Reviews


Everyone thinks Lucy murdered her best friend. Including Lucy. When a handsome podcaster begins investigating the case, Lucy starts to question her past and what really happened that night her friend died. Perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and What Lies in the Woods. For an extra treat listen to the audiobook which is produced to sound like a real true crime podcast!

— Natalie

New York Times Bestseller
A Good Morning America Book Club Pick

"A world-class whodunit."
—Stephen King

“An extremely successful high-wire act, balancing between dark comedy and darker thrills.”
—Alex Michaelides, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“Laugh-out-loud funny, thrilling and twisty...”
Liane Moriarty, #1 New York Times bestselling author

What if you thought you murdered your best friend? And if everyone else thought so too? And what if the truth doesn't matter?

After Lucy is found wandering the streets, covered in her best friend Savvy’s blood, everyone thinks she is a murderer. Lucy and Savvy were the golden girls of their small Texas town: pretty, smart, and enviable. Lucy married a dream guy with a big ring and an even bigger new home. Savvy was the social butterfly loved by all, and if you believe the rumors, especially popular with the men in town. It’s been years since that horrible night, a night Lucy can’t remember anything about, and she has since moved to LA and started a new life.

But now the phenomenally huge hit true crime podcast "Listen for the Lie," and its too-good looking host Ben Owens, have decided to investigate Savvy’s murder for the show’s second season. Lucy is forced to return to the place she vowed never to set foot in again to solve her friend’s murder, even if she is the one that did it.

The truth is out there, if we just listen.

Amy Tintera is the New York Times bestselling author of several series for young adults. She earned degrees in journalism and film and worked in Hollywood before becoming an author. Raised in Austin, Texas, she frequently sets her novels in the Lone Star State, but she now lives in Los Angeles, where there’s far less humidity but not nearly enough Tex-Mex. Listen for the Lie is her adult debut.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250880314
ISBN-10: 1250880319
Publisher: Celadon Books
Publication Date: March 5th, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English

Listen for the Lie is a page-turner from the first sentence to the very last. In addition to being a world-class whodunit, full of carefully doled-out twists, Lucy is a terrific character, feisty and funny and, it turns out, brave as hell. It’s great fun. Readers will rip through this one.”
Stephen King

“Original and deliciously dark with a wicked sense of humor. An addictive page-turner that will keep you guessing until the end.”
—Alice Feeney, New York Times bestselling author

“A singular voice that explodes off the page, Amy Tintera's writing flashes with sharp comebacks and pointed commentary as she expertly knits her web of secrets and small town lies. Hands down the most fun I've had reading about murder.”
Chandler Baker, New York Times bestselling author of The Husbands

“Amy Tintera’s highly compelling voice grips you from the opening line and won’t let you go. A delight from start to finish.”
Alex Michaelides, bestselling author of The Silent Patient and The Fury

“Every so often, a book comes along that takes you for a ride--now buckle up, because Amy Tintera has written it. Listen for the Lie explores the cruelest kind of world through the eyes of a woman whose grit is only outmatched by her razor-sharp wit. This bitingly funny and subversive thriller is one of the freshest and fiercest you'll read this year.”
Courtney Summers, New York Times bestselling author of Sadie

“Laugh-out-loud funny, thrilling and twisty, edgy and scary, but also surprisingly sweet. I loved it!”
—Liane Moriarty, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Big Little Lies, Nine Perfect Strangers, and Apples Never Fall

"Listen for the Lie is quite sexy, compulsively readable, and laugh-out-loud funny."
—ShelfAwareness

“Readers will be hard-pressed not to wolf down this intelligent page-turner in a single sitting.”
—Publishers Weekly

“Smart, edgy, and entertaining as heck.”
—Kirkus

“The true-crime podcast hook will draw readers in, but it is Lucy's unique voice that will keep them turning the pages. An excellent takedown of small-town life and toxic masculinity.”
—Booklist

Listen for the Lie is an edgy mystery novel whose true-crime storyline draws you in like ‘Serial’.”
—The Washington Post

“This is the debut thriller by Tintera, whose previous books have been for young readers, and it's so assured that I can't wait to read more from her. Young readers’ loss may be thriller lovers’ gain.”
—The Minneapolis Star Tribune

“[A] sleekly satirical novel.”
PEOPLE Magazine