Dory Fantasmagory: Dory Dory Black Sheep (Paperback)

**Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability above the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243**

Dory Fantasmagory: Dory Dory Black Sheep By Abby Hanlon Cover Image

Dory Fantasmagory: Dory Dory Black Sheep (Paperback)

$7.99


On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Apr 13 10:04pm
(Children Chapter Books)

Dory turns learning to read into a hilarious adventure through the power of imagination—perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones and Ivy and Bean!
 
Ever since Dory met Rosabelle, a real true friend whose imagination and high spirits match her own, school has been pretty good. But now the class is learning to read, and it's proving to be a challenge for Dory. While Rosabelle can read chapter books in her head, Dory is stuck with baby books about a happy little farm. Dory wishes for a potion to turn her into a reader but things don't go as planned. Suddenly, a naughty little girl who looks an awful lot like Dory's imaginary nemesis, Mrs. Gobble Gracker, shows up. And a black sheep leaves the pages of the farm book to follow Dory to school. It really needs her help--this seems like a job for a superhero! And it would help if she knew how to read. 

In her third book, Dory takes reluctant reading to new heights with a story that is as one-of-a-kind and hilarious as she is.


"An especially wonderful book to share with reluctant readers...I can’t imagine a book more calculated to reinforce the power of reading and becoming a reader than Dory Dory Black Sheep. It is a true triumph." —Publishers Weekly ShelfTalker
 
"Hanlon has a winning way with the story’s characters (real and imaginary) and dialogue.” —Booklist
Abby Hanlon has taught creative writing and first grade in the New York City public school system. Inspired by her students’ storytelling and drawings, Abby began to write her own stories for children, and taught herself to draw after not having drawn since childhood. 
Product Details ISBN: 9781101994276
ISBN-10: 1101994274
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: September 5th, 2017
Pages: 176
Language: English
Series: Dory Fantasmagory
Praise for Dory Dory Black Sheep:

"An especially wonderful book to share with reluctant readers...I can’t imagine a book more calculated to reinforce the power of reading and becoming a reader than Dory Dory Black Sheep. It is a true triumph." —Publishers Weekly ShelfTalker

"Hanlon has a winning way with the story’s characters (real and imaginary) and dialogue.... The third entry in the Dory Fantasmagory series will satisfy the many young chapter-book readers who like their books served with a generous helping of fun." —Booklist

"Dory's fans will be entertained by this further adventure." —Kirkus Reviews

"If you haven't read the previous two Dory books yet, get on with it already. They're quirky and funny and capture childhood like few books can.”—100 Scope Notes blog


Prasise for the Dory Fantasmagory series: 

* "Charming, funny, true to life." –Kirkus Reviews, starred review of Dory Fantasmagory

*  "Time spent with Dory is time well spent." –Publishers Weekly, starred review  of Dory Fantasmagory

*  “Readers will laugh at her entertaining antics.” –School Library Journal, starred review  of Dory Fantasmagory

* "Hanlon’s hilarious narration and cartooning reveal an uncanny talent for getting into the mile-a-minute mind of a one-of-a-kind girl." –Publishers Weekly, starred review of Dory Fantasmagory: The Real True Friend

* “Well written, humorous, and engaging.” –School Library Journal, starred review of Dory Fantasmagory: The Real True Friend

"It’s genius." – Travis Jonker, 100 Scope Notes Blog review of Dory Fantasmagory: The Real True Friend

"Dory is as likable a kid heroine as I’ve encountered in a decade."  – The Boston Globe review of Dory Fantasmagory: The Real True Friend