Talking at Night: A Novel (Paperback)

**Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability above the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243**

Staff Pick Badge
Talking at Night: A Novel By Claire Daverley Cover Image

Talking at Night: A Novel (Paperback)

$18.00


On Our Shelves Now
9 on hand, as of Jul 19 10:06pm
(Fiction)

Staff Reviews


I’m going to go out on a limb and say that you are free to judge this book by its cover. In the same way that young love often feels like a blazing sunrise obscured by morning fog, so Will and Rosie’s relationship spans the most glorious and perplexing moments of adolescence. If you enjoyed Normal People, but wished (like me) for a different ending, this book is for you.

— Elizabeth

Nostalgic · Intimate · Bittersweet · Romantic · Emotional

“A beautifully observed, tender love story with characters you really care about… a bit like Normal People. I devoured it.”Jojo Moyes, New York Times bestselling author of Someone Else's Shoes

“A gorgeous story of first love, loss, and the people who stick to your ribs... Beautiful, poignant, and heart-wrenching in the best way possible.” ―Carley Fortune, New York Times bestselling author of Every Summer After

For fans of Netflix’s ONE DAY, a poignant and emotional will they/won't they story that cleverly captures both the thrill and trepidation of first love


Will and Rosie meet as teenagers.

They're opposites in every way. She overthinks everything; he is her twin brother's wild and unpredictable friend. But over secret walks home and late-night phone calls, they become closer - destined to be one another's great love story.

Until, one day, tragedy strikes, and their future together is shattered.

But as the years roll on, Will and Rosie can't help but find their way back to each other. Time and again, they come close to rekindling what might have been.

What do you do when the one person you should forget is the one you just can't let go?
Claire Daverley graduated with a degree in fine art from the University of Oxford, and began a career in publishing, writing about books by day but her own by night. She currently lives in Scotland with her husband and spaniel. Talking at Night is her debut novel.
Product Details ISBN: 9780593653500
ISBN-10: 0593653505
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: June 18th, 2024
Pages: 400
Language: English
Praise for Talking at Night:

“Have your tissues handy for Talking at Night. . . a raw, extraordinary novel in which every scene aches with emotion.”
Real Simple

“A beautifully observed, tender love story with characters you really care about…a bit like Normal People. I devoured it.”
Jojo Moyes, New York Times bestselling author of Someone Else's Shoes


“I absolutely adored Talking at Night, the breathtaking debut from Claire Daverley. A gorgeous story of first love, loss, and the people who stick to your ribs, it should be on everyone’s must-read list. Beautiful, poignant, and heart-wrenching in the best way possible.”
―Carley Fortune, New York Times bestselling author of Every Summer After

“Compelling and propulsive, Talking at Night is an achingly beautiful novel about the people in our lives who change us irrevocably and who we will always carry with us, no matter what. Claire Daverley writes with elegance and grace as she mines the depths of human emotions. This novel will consume you.”
―Jill Santopolo, New York Times bestselling author of The Light We Lost

Talking at Night is a love story, certainly, but it’s much more than that. I was rapt. I highly recommend this wonderful novel.”
―Ann Napolitano, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Edward and Hello Beautiful

“The story of Will and Rosie is a classic love story in every sense, and yet, in Claire Daverley’s hands, it felt entirely new. The characters are completely alive from the very first page, and how I rooted for them! Talking at Night could be titled 'Reading at Night,' because I was awake through the night, turning these pages.”
―Mary Beth Keane, New York Times bestselling author of Ask Again, Yes

"Talking at Night is a transcendent marvel. Spanning decades and introducing readers to lush, complex characters whose witty dialogue reminded me of Sally Rooney's work, Daverley's debut is aching and tender, searing and sweet, a story about the power of love to make even the most broken of us whole."
–Amanda Eyre Ward, New York Times bestselling author of The Jetsetters

“Beautifully written and keenly felt. It’s romantic but not a romance, for this novel is authentic to its bones. Beguiling, but also painfully honest, and that’s a rare and winning combination indeed.”
―Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of One Two Three

“Spellbinding, beautiful, lyrical and tender, Talking at Night is a dazzling debut. I loved every word and was left longing for more.”
—Rosie Walsh, New York Times bestselling author of The Love of My Life

“Quietly devastating, entirely beautiful, bruising and hopeful. In a world of compromise, Claire Daverley has created a perfect thing. Talking at Night takes its place amongst my all time favourites. I implore you to read it. I’ll never forget it.”
—Chris Whitaker, New York Times bestselling author of We Begin At The End

“Daverley’s descriptive powers make even the ordinary seem significant. . . As much as Talking at Night is a love story between two people, it is also a meditation on family and the vagaries of grief when bonds are broken. . . Readers will keep turning pages.”
—BookPage

“[Talking at Night is] especially perfect for those with a Normal People-shaped hole in their hearts.”
Into the Gloss

“With shades of Sally Rooney, this is a lyrical, tender love story about two people, Will and Rosie, who meet as teenagers and seemed destined to be together until tragedy strikes.”
Good Housekeeping (UK)

“Daverley’s moving debut outlines a lyrical story of unspoken words and one unending love. . . While Rosie and Will’s love story is fraught with heartbreak and change, and although the journey is almost always tumultuous, their evolving friendship and unbreakable connection prove entirely worthwhile and real. A poignant romance perfect for fans of Josie Silver and Bethan Roberts.”
Kirkus


“Talking at Night is a masterful and authentic depiction of true love in all its messy, complicated and gut-wrenching glory. Will and Rosie are the perfect, imperfect star-crossed lovers – their story had me enthralled from the start.”
—Ruth Hogan, international bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Things

“Deeply romantic . . . Reminded me of just how all-consuming and transformative first love can be. The more I read, the more I was completely immersed in the story of Rosie and Will and how life, and tragedy, conspire to keep them apart.” 
―Laura Barnett, author of This Beating Heart

“Clever, beautiful and romantic. An absolute gem.” 
―Rachel Marks, author of Hello, Stranger