Eternal (Large Print / Paperback)

Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability beneath the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243.

Staff Pick Badge
Eternal Cover Image
$30.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Eternal is Scottoline's first foray into historical fiction, but it still has Lisa Scottoline written all over it! A wonderfully engaging story of loyalty, family, loss, love (and food), set against the backdrop of the Nazi invasion of Rome during WW II. It has her authentic voice and is a page turner like all her other works. As a sidenote, have a bowl of pasta close by as you read the book. You’ll thank me!

— Elyse

April 2021 Indie Next List


Eternal is an exhilarating, sweeping novel from the beloved Lisa Scottoline. Fans of The Nightingale and All the Light We Cannot See will instantly fall in love with this beautiful WWII novel. With a dash of everything you want in your next favorite read plus everything we have ever loved about Scottoline’s writing, Eternal will without a doubt be at the top of every must-read list for 2021.”
— Amanda Zirn Hudson, Bethany Beach Books, Bethany Beach, DE

Description


NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
 
#1 bestselling author Lisa Scottoline offers a sweeping and shattering epic of historical fiction fueled by shocking true events, the tale of a love triangle that unfolds in the heart of Rome...in the creeping shadow of fascism.


What war destroys, only love can heal.

Elisabetta, Marco, and Sandro grow up as the best of friends despite their differences. Elisabetta is a feisty beauty who dreams of becoming a novelist; Marco the brash and athletic son in a family of professional cyclists; and Sandro a Jewish mathematics prodigy, kind-hearted and thoughtful, the son of a lawyer and a doctor. Their friendship blossoms to love, with both Sandro and Marco hoping to win Elisabetta's heart. But in the autumn of 1937, all of that begins to change as Mussolini asserts his power, aligning Italy's Fascists with Hitler's Nazis and altering the very laws that govern Rome. In time, everything that the three hold dear--their families, their homes, and their connection to one another--is tested in ways they never could have imagined.

As anti-Semitism takes legal root and World War II erupts, the threesome realizes that Mussolini was only the beginning. The Nazis invade Rome, and with their occupation come new atrocities against the city's Jews, culminating in a final, horrific betrayal. Against this backdrop, the intertwined fates of Elisabetta, Marco, Sandro, and their families will be decided, in a heartbreaking story of both the best and the worst that the world has to offer.

Unfolding over decades, Eternal is a tale of loyalty and loss, family and food, love and war--all set in one of the world's most beautiful cities at its darkest moment. This moving novel will be forever etched in the hearts and minds of readers.

About the Author


Lisa Scottoline is the New York Times-bestselling author of thirty-two novels. She has 30 million copies of her books in print in the United States and has been published in thirty-five countries. Scottoline also writes a weekly column with her daughter for The Philadelphia Inquirer. Lisa has served as President of Mystery Writers of America and has taught a course she developed, "Justice in Fiction" at the University of Pennsylvania Law School, her alma mater. She lives in the Philadelphia area.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593395660
ISBN-10: 0593395662
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Random House Large Print
Publication Date: April 6th, 2021
Pages: 736
Language: English