Christmas by the Book (Paperback)

**Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability above the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243**

Staff Pick Badge
Christmas by the Book Cover Image

Christmas by the Book (Paperback)

$16.00


On Our Shelves Now
6 on hand, as of Nov 29 10:03pm

Staff Reviews


Reading this feels like cozying up with a cup of hot chocolate. Nora and Simon own the independent bookstore in their small Cotswolds village and are struggling to make ends meet. As they work through what might be their last holiday in the store, they connect with a cast of lonely characters from their village. If you're a fan of bookstores with dogs and Christmas miracles, this is the book for you!

— Becca

“A heartfelt and lovely Christmas tale for book lovers everywhere!”—Jenny Colgan, author of The Bookshop on the Shore
 
In small-town England, two booksellers facing tough times decide to spread some Christmas cheer through the magic of anonymous book deliveries in this uplifting holiday tale for book lovers everywhere.


Nora and her husband, Simon, have run the beautiful oak-beamed book shop in their small British village for thirty years. But times are tough and the shop is under threat of closure--this Christmas season will really decide their fate. When an elderly man visits the store and buys the one book they've never been able to sell, saying it's the perfect gift for his sick grandson, it gives Nora an idea. She and Simon will send out books to those feeling down this Christmas. Maybe they can't save their bookstore, but at least they'll have one final chance to lift people's spirits through the power of reading.

After gathering nominations online, Nora and Simon quietly deliver books to six residents of the village in need of some festive cheer, including a single dad of twins who is working hard to make ends meet, a teenage boy grieving for his big sister, a local Member of Parliament who is battling depression, and a teacher who's newly retired and living on her own. As the town prepares for a white Christmas, the books begin to give the recipients hope, one by one. But with the future of the bookshop still up in the air, Nora and Simon will need a Christmas miracle--or perhaps a little help from the people whose lives they've touched--to find a happy ending of their own....
Anne Marie Ryan is a book editor at Hachette Children's Books in the UK, and has written and published children's books under several pseudonyms. She lives in London with her husband, two daughters, and an indifferent cat. Christmas by the Book is her first novel for adults.
Product Details ISBN: 9780593331248
ISBN-10: 0593331249
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publication Date: October 12th, 2021
Pages: 320
Language: English
“Snuggle in for the holidays with this heartwarming story about the power of Christmas, books, and friendship. Ryan does an excellent job of building a sense of place and exploring the community relationships, and handles tough topics (depression, loss, financial uncertainty) with a light, deft hand. Whether readers love stories about quaint English bookshops, Christmas, or small towns full of quirky characters, this book will surely warm the cockles of their hearts. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Elin Hilderbrand.”—Booklist
 
“A heartfelt and lovely Christmas tale for book lovers everywhere!”—Jenny Colgan, author of The Bookshop on the Corner 

"Christmas by the Book sparkles with love and generosity—this book will make you believe in Christmas miracles."—Nancy Thayer, author of Let It Snow

"Reading Christmas by the Book is like eavesdropping in your favorite bookstore. The novel not only reminds us of the role such a bookstore plays in our communities but how random acts of kindness can heal us all. Ultimately, the novel is a testament to what happens when the perfect book finds us at the moment we need it most. Delightful and hopeful, this novel is the perfect Christmas treat."—Amy Meyerson, author of The Bookshop of Yesterdays

“Like all of our most beloved Christmas stories, Anne Marie Ryan’s big-hearted Christmas by the Book weaves together a tale of hope, community, friendship and love. It is warm reminder that real miracles happen when everyday people show up for each other. Best of all, it is a celebration of books, the way they can bring us together, make us stronger, and remind us that we are not alone. I know reading Christmas by the Book will become a part of my own holiday tradition, and I bet it will become a part of your, too.”—Louise Miller, author of The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living and The Late Bloomers’ Club

"A gift for booklovers everywhere. This is a sweet love letter penned by a talented writer who understands the magic and power of books to bring comfort and joy to readers. You'll want to buy two copies of this lovely novel—one to keep, and one to share."—Susan Wiggs, author of The Lost and Found Bookshop

"A proper feel-good Christmassy read, with a charmingly cosy setting, plenty of nicely-drawn characters and a real sense of community, plus an inspirational message that all booklovers can get behind."—Jackie Fraser, author of The Bookshop of Second Chances