The Sweet Taste of Muscadines: A Novel (Hardcover)

Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability beneath the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243.

The Sweet Taste of Muscadines: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of May 11 6:15pm

Description


A woman returns to her small southern hometown in the wake of her mother’s sudden death—only to find the past upended by stunning family secrets—in this intimate debut novel, written with deep compassion and sharp wit.

“A deeply moving work of Southern fiction that will appeal to fans of Where the Crawdads Sing . . . a story to remember long after the last page is turned.”—Susan Wiggs, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lost and Found Bookshop 

Lila Bruce Breedlove never quite felt at home in Wesleyan, Georgia, especially after her father’s untimely demise when she was a child. Both Lila and her brother, Henry, fled north after high school, establishing fulfilling lives of their own. In contrast, their younger sister, Abigail, opted to remain behind to dote on their domineering, larger-than-life mother, Geneva. Yet despite their independence, Lila and Henry know deep down that they’ve never quite reckoned with their upbringing.

When their elderly mother dies suddenly and suspiciously in the muscadine arbor behind the family estate, Lila and Henry return to the town that essentially raised them. But as they uncover the facts about Geneva’s death, shocking truths are revealed that overturn the family’s history as they know it, sending the pair on an extraordinary journey to chase a truth that will dramatically alter the course of their lives. The Sweet Taste of Muscadines reminds us all that true love never dies.

About the Author


A lifelong Southerner, Pamela Terry learned the power of storytelling at a very early age. For the past decade, Terry has been the author of the internationally popular blog From the House of Edward, which was named one of the top ten home blogs of the year by London's The Telegraph. She lives in Smyrna, Georgia, with her songwriter husband, Pat, and their three dogs, Apple, Andrew, and George. She travels to the Scottish Highlands as frequently as possible and is currently at work on her second novel.

Praise For…


“I inhaled this book. Rarely has a story or an author impressed me more. Pamela Terry is destined to be a rising star in the literary world.”—Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Walk Along the Beach
 
“A dazzling debut! The Sweet Taste of Muscadines is pure pleasure—a lyrical and compelling story that draws you in from the very first line and never lets you go.”—Susan Mallery, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Friendship List
 
The Sweet Taste of Muscadines is a deeply moving work of Southern fiction that will appeal to fans of Rebecca Wells and Delia Owens. Yet Pamela Terry’s delicious mix of long-held secrets and hard-earned redemption is a unique journey into the heart of a family. A story to remember long after the last page is turned.”—Susan Wiggs, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lost and Found Bookshop
 
The Sweet Taste of Muscadines came to me as the perfect escape. A wonderful debut novel, with everything from a dysfunctional family to a rich cast of characters.”—Robert Hicks, New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan Mother

“I was enthralled by Pamela Terry’s gorgeous debut novel about the pleasures and perils of family and the enduring nature of love. Give yourself the gift of imagining the fragrances of magnolia and pine while savoring The Sweet Taste of Muscadines.”—Amanda Eyre Ward, New York Times bestselling author of The Jetsetters
 
“The Sweet Taste of Muscadines is an extraordinary and sensorial journey both geographically and emotionally. Pamela Terry offers a powerful wallop of drama, humor, and grief, all gorgeously wrapped in evocative language. . . . A story of family and of courage that begs to be read more than once.”—Karen White, New York Times bestselling author of Dreams of Falling
 
“This moving novel reminds us of the necessity of love, the value of family connection, and the redeeming light of forgiveness. Pamela Terry seems to have a second sight, one that allows her to really see the secret workings of the heart. She writes with humor, elegance, and grace about subjects as universal and diverse as humanity itself.”—Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times bestselling author of The Favorite Daughter

“A mashup of Fried Green Tomatoes and You Can’t Go Home Again with a sprinkling of William Faulkner.”BookPage

“Filled with vivid landscape descriptions, Southern charm, and heartfelt familial connections, this novel is sure to please readers, especially fans of Southern women’s fiction and family dramas like the works of Mary Kay Andrews and Kristin Hannah.”—Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593158456
ISBN-10: 0593158458
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: March 16th, 2021
Pages: 304
Language: English