The Thank You Book (Hardcover)

Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability beneath the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243.

The Thank You Book Cover Image
By Mary Lyn Ray, Stephanie Graegin (Illustrator)
$13.99
On Our Shelves Now
5 on hand, as of Dec 18 4:40am
(Children Picture Books)

Description


Perfect for fans of Margaret Wise Brown and Pat Zietlow Miller’s Be KindThe Thank You Book explores the many ways of being thankful that can fill a child's day. Timely, wise, and accessible, the poetic text and tender illustrations celebrate the powerful impact gratitude can have on our lives.

Thank you isn't just for learning manners.
It's also for when something wakes a 
little hum
a little happy huminside you
and you want to answer back.

The Thank You Book explores the many ways we can be thankful for the pleasures great and small that await us every day. Tender and poetic, it reflects on the role gratitude can play in our lives and celebrates the powerful impact it can have on us.

About the Author


Mary Lyn Ray has written many acclaimed books for children, including Go to Sleep, Little Farm, illustrated by Christopher Silas Neal; New York Times best-seller Stars, illustrated by Marla Frazee and The Thank You Book, illustrated by Stephanie Graegin. She lives in South Danbury, New Hampshire.

www.marylynray.com 


Stephanie Graegin spent her childhood drawing and collecting fauna in Fort Wayne, Indiana and Houston, Texas. She received her BFA in Fine Arts from the Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore, Maryland. She later attended Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York, obtaining a Master of Fine Arts in Printmaking. Stephanie's beautifully illustrated books include The Thank You Book by Mary Lyn Ray and You Were the First by Patricia MacLachlan. She now lives in Brooklyn, is still drawing, and has managed to keep her collection down to one orange cat.

www.graegin.com
Twitter: @Steph_Graegin
Instagram: @sgraegin

Praise For…


"The illustrations portray a warm, cozy, and happy world full of farmers markets, picnics, parties, and friendship. The text focuses on experiences of happiness that kids can actually relate to, and is poetic enough to evoke real feeling and understanding of the concept of gratitude for the good things in life...Discussions of gratitude, happiness, and kindness are always needed, and this small book makes the medicine go down with a delicious spoonful of sugar."--School Library Journal

"
A delightful little book that encourages readers to connect to places, times, and one another with the simple act of saying 'thank you' and whose illustrations promote equality, diversity, kindness, and gratitude for all."--Kirkus

"
Many of the scenes offer intriguing details for young children to discover and enjoy. An appealing picture book with a theme that’s timely at Thanksgiving but always relevant."--Booklist

 


Product Details
ISBN: 9780544791367
ISBN-10: 0544791363
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 4th, 2018
Pages: 32
Language: English