The Love Story of Missy Carmichael (Hardcover)

Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability beneath the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243.

The Love Story of Missy Carmichael Cover Image
$26.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and A Man Called Ove, a life-affirming, deeply moving "coming-of-old" story, a celebration of how ordinary days are made extraordinary through friendship, family, and the power of forgiving yourself--at any age.

"At a time when people are having to isolate, [this novel is] a balm, offering an expansive sense of love and possibility at a time when the main characters feel like those chances are gone." --Christian Science Monitor


The world has changed around seventy-nine-year-old librarian Millicent Carmichael, aka Missy. Though quick to admit that she often found her roles as a housewife and mother less than satisfying, Missy once led a bustling life driven by two children, an accomplished and celebrated husband, and a Classics degree from Cambridge. Now her husband is gone, her daughter is estranged after a shattering argument, and her son has moved to his wife's native Australia, taking Missy's beloved only grandchild half-a-world away. She spends her days sipping sherry, avoiding people, and rattling around in her oversized, under-decorated house waiting for...what exactly?

The last thing Missy expects is for two perfect strangers and one spirited dog named Bob to break through her prickly exterior and show Missy just how much love she still has to give. In short order, Missy finds herself in the jarring embrace of an eclectic community that simply won't take no for an answer--including a rambunctious mutt-on-loan whose unconditional love gives Missy a reason to re-enter the world one muddy paw print at a time.

Filled with wry laughter and deep insights, The Love Story of Missy Carmichael is a coming-of-old story that shows us it's never too late to forgive yourself and, just as important, it's never too late to love.

About the Author


Beth Morrey's work has been published in the Cambridge and Oxford May Anthologies and shortlisted for the Grazia Orange First Chapter competition. She lives in London with her family and dog. The Love Story of Missy Carmichael is her debut novel.

Praise For…


“Masterful and a real page-turner. Missy is a joy . . . the humor and courage with which she faces loss and ageing are handled with such wit and empathy. The world needs more assured female voices like Beth Morrey’s. Her novel is a breath of fresh air!”
—Felicity Hayes-McCoy, author of The Library at the Edge of the World

“For everyone with an Eleanor Oliphant-shaped hole in their heart, this is the book to fill it. Gorgeous characters, heartfelt storytelling and the sort of book that lifts your heart.”
—Eithne Shortall, author of Grace After Henry
 
“Here is a love story of the most important kind: that of coming to love oneself through accepting and returning the love of others--be it people or dogs. I truly enjoyed reading this story of a big-hearted but embittered woman who turns her life around, two steps forward and one step back, which is to say realistically. . . . An elegant reminder that the rest of us are capable of doing the same thing. In this way, it is not only pleasurable but inspiring reading. (It should come with a warning: This book may cause you to race to the shelter to adopt a best friend.)”
—Elizabeth Berg, author of Night of Miracles

“Morrey has deftly created a series of love stories, interwoven together and told in snippets through time. . . . Pain, grief, and hurt are all part of life in this moving portrayal of the many forms love can take.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)


"A novel that reminds you that everyone deserves a second chance, even at seventy-nine. Bittersweet, tender, thoughtful and uplifting, The Love Story of Missy Carmichael is a story and a character that stays with you. I loved it."
—Nina Stibbe, author of Reasons to be Cheerful

“Deeply moving, charming, and filled with wit and empathy - you can read on every page the love and care that Morrey has for each of her characters and by the end you'll love them too.”  
—Kathy Wang, author of Family Trust

“Moving but not sentimental (just as Missy would like it), this is a deeply satisfying read. Missy is a fantastically real character, as complex, frustrating, vulnerable and surprising as any I’ve met in print. I miss her already.”
—Eleanor Wasserberg, author of Foxlowe

“A beautiful story about love, loss, guilt and the power of friendship.”
—Jill Mansell, author of
Maybe This Time

“A soulful, refreshing and tender book.”
—Stephanie Butland, author of The Lost For Words Bookshop

The most beautiful and the most moving book I’ve read in a long time. It will comfort you and it will break your heart.”
—Emma Flint, author of Little Deaths

“A generous-hearted story showing the transformative power of friendship and community. . . . A fabulously enjoyable book!”
—Sarah Haywood, author of The Cactus

“A joyful, tender, life affirming STUNNER of a book that has made me want to make the most of everything, grab hold of people and all the good moments.”
—Cressida McLaughlin, author of The House of Birds and Butterflies


Product Details
ISBN: 9780525542445
ISBN-10: 0525542442
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publication Date: April 7th, 2020
Pages: 352