Pebble and Wren (Paperback)

**Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability above the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243**

Staff Pick Badge
Pebble and Wren By Chris Hallbeck Cover Image

Pebble and Wren (Paperback)

$13.99


On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of May 21 2:06pm
(Children Graphic Novels)

Staff Reviews


Sent out to determine their special powers, Pebble is scared until finding Wren. The young monster and young human become friends, eventually communicating telepathically. Wren helps Pebble make sense of the world, explaining things like thermodynamics of refrigeration. Their adventures lead to friendship in a story that will make you laugh and smile and want to have Pebble come to your house!

— Ashby

A little girl and her live-in monster learn about what makes them different—and what unites them. This graphic novel is a silly, sweet, and sometimes gross tribute to friendship, and to the wacky world we live in.

Based on his webcomic of the same name, Pebble and Wren follows human girl Wren and her live-in monster, Pebble, as she teaches them all about how the human world works—from why the moon changes shape to why we don't eat candy wrappers—while trying to unlock special abilities without which Pebble will have to return to the monster forest.

A silly, sweet, and sometimes gross tribute to friendship for fans of Calvin & Hobbes and Catwad.

Chris Hallbeck is a roughly human shaped collection of anxieties held together by caffeine and curiosity. He’s been publishing comics on the internet since 2006 with his single panel comic The Book of Biff, followed by his multi-panel strip Maximumble. He was the co-writer and artist for Unshelved at the end of it’s run which led to co-creating the similarly themed Library Comic. With the addition of his voice and animation, his comics have found an audience of over two million followers across TikTok, YouTube, and Instagram. He lives in Michigan with his wife, two children, and a small worm in the back of his skull that whispers comic ideas to him. 

Product Details ISBN: 9780358541288
ISBN-10: 035854128X
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: April 11th, 2023
Pages: 240
Language: English

“A perfect graphic novel: sweet and hilarious with poignant moments.” — — Zach Weinersmith, creator of Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal

“Chris is one of the funnies comic writers out there . . . when you combine his seemingly endless jokes with the sweetness of Pebble and Wren, the result is a complete delight." — — James Stewart, creator of Dinos and Comics

"A delightfully imaginative and silly adventure." — — Nathan Pyle, creator of Strange Planet

“Chris Hallbeck brings an indelible charm to everything he does and Pebble & Wren is no exception. It's surprisingly wholesome for a story about a horned, shape-shifting monster living under a kid's bed. Chris even manages to sneak in little learning moments without taking anything away from the fun (I learned why we feel dizzy after spinning around!).” — — J. L. Westover, creator of Mr. Lovenstein

“Pebble and Wren is unique, cute, and really fun. My kids are going to love this!” — — Nick Seluk, creator of The Awkward Yeti

"Hallbeck’s tidy narrative emerges from a format largely consisting of four easy-to-follow frames per page. The nine chapters feel episodic but are winningly tied together by the [Pebble and Wren's] developing understanding of each other, achieved through ordinary life and a few extraordinary moments [that] feel both magical and natural . . . Endearing and slightly offbeat." — Kirkus Reviews

"Quirky and charming, this graphic novel with themes of friendship and being one’s self will find a home in many collections." — School Library Journal

Hallbeck’s hijinks-filled graphic novel, rendered using bold outlines and richly colored illustrations, is filled with humor and sweet gestures of connection alike.  — Publishers Weekly