A Thousand Steps into Night (Hardcover)

**Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability above the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243**

Staff Pick Badge
A Thousand Steps into Night By Traci Chee Cover Image

A Thousand Steps into Night (Hardcover)

$18.99


On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Oct 4 10:18am

Staff Reviews


Life is quiet and dull for Miuko until she encounters a demon and everything changes. Miuko must go on a journey that will cause her to question everything she knows, including gender norms, society, and the very relationships she holds dear. Chee's writing brings every character, major or minor, to life and transports readers to a fantastical land.

— Chelsea

Longlisted for the National Book Award

From bestselling and award-winning author Traci Chee comes a Japanese-inspired fantasy perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli. When a girl who’s never longed for adventure is hit with a curse that begins to transform her into a demon, she embarks on a quest to reverse the curse and return to her normal life, but along the way is forced to confront her true power within. 

In the realm of Awara, where gods, monsters, and humans exist side by side, Miuko is an ordinary girl resigned to a safe, if uneventful, existence as an innkeeper’s daughter.

But when Miuko is cursed and begins to transform into a demon with a deadly touch, she embarks on a quest to reverse the curse and return to her normal life. Aided by a thieving magpie spirit and continuously thwarted by a demon prince, Miuko must outfox tricksters, escape demon hunters, and negotiate with feral gods if she wants to make it home again.

With her transformation comes power and freedom she never even dreamed of, and she’ll have to decide if saving her soul is worth trying to cram herself back into an ordinary life that no longer fits her… and perhaps never did.

Traci Chee is the New York Times bestselling author of The Reader series and a National Book Award finalist. Her latest novel, We Are Not Free, was met with a Printz Honor and Walter Honor in addition to the NBA nomination and received four starred reviews. She lives in Northern California. www.tracichee.com, Twitter: @tracichee, Facebook & Instagram: @TraciCheeAuthor.

Product Details ISBN: 9780358469988
ISBN-10: 0358469988
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: March 1st, 2022
Pages: 384
Language: English

“Chee once again creates a lush fantasy world that revolves around a girl discovering her own power…[and] never takes the path that’s expected.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“Intricate plotting; a vivid, multifaceted cast; and immersive worldbuilding provide plenty for readers to sink their teeth into in this triumphant fantasy.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Unexpected and inventive.” — Horn Book Magazine