The Five Year Lie: A Domestic Thriller (Paperback)

**Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability above the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243**

Staff Pick Badge
The Five Year Lie: A Domestic Thriller By Sarina Bowen Cover Image

The Five Year Lie: A Domestic Thriller (Paperback)

$18.99


On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jun 12 4:07pm
(Fiction Mystery)

Staff Reviews


A titan of the romance genre, The Five-Year Lie is Bowen's foray into the world of domestic thrillers. With her signature heart-punch romance at the center, Bowen delivers a spine-tingling thriller that keeps you guessing right up to the very last page.

— Katie

“I devoured this book in one day, and I guarantee you will too.”—Julie Clark, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight and The Lies I Tell

“An expertly woven story of love, revenge, and murder. In a world where so many books feel so similarthis was a refreshingly unique read and an addictive blend of love and mystery that I couldn’t put down. This is storytelling at its finest and I can’t recommend this book enough.”—AR Torre, New York Times bestselling author of Every Last Secret

Bestselling romance author Sarina Bowen’s debut thriller, about one woman’s search for the truth after receiving a text from her deceased ex.

She thought it was love. Then he vanished.

On an ordinary Monday morning, Ariel Cafferty's phone buzzes with a disturbing text message. Something’s happened. I need to see you. Meet me under the candelabra tree ASAP. The words would be jarring from anyone, but the sender is the only man she ever loved. And it's been several years since she learned he died.

Seeing Drew’s name pop up is heart-stopping. Ariel’s gut says it can’t be real. But she goes to the tree anyway. She has to.

Nobody shows. But the text upends everything she thought she knew about the day he left her. The more questions she asks, the more sinister the answers get. Only two things are clear: everything she was told five years ago is wrong, and someone is still lying to her. 

The truth has to be out there somewhere. To safeguard herself—and her son—she’ll have to find it before it finds her. And with it, the answer to what became of Drew. 

For fans of Laura Dave and Julie Clark, but with a heart-stopping romance that only Sarina Bowen can execute, The Five Year Lie is a page-turning, spine-tingling thriller that will have you guessing until the very end.

Sarina Bowen is a 24-time USA Today bestselling author, and a Wall Street Journal bestselling author of contemporary romance novels. Formerly a derivatives trader on Wall Street, Sarina holds a BA in economics from Yale University.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063280601
ISBN-10: 0063280604
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Publication Date: May 7th, 2024
Pages: 432
Language: English

“Sarina Bowen is always an auto-buy for me, and this is the kind of book that’s sure to stay with you. You can’t go wrong!” — Ally Carter, New York Times bestselling author of The Blonde Identity

"Buckle up! The Five Year Lie is a twisty, roller-coaster tale of love and suspicion, revenge and murder. The cameras in our homes are supposed to watch for strangers but we never think they might be tracking us. Sarina Bowen layers on the suspense in this crackling story of passion and betrayal." — Joanna Schaffhausen, author of Gone for Good

"With tension that grabs you from the first page, characters that draw you in, and the romance of a life time. You won't be able to look away." — Kylie Scott, New York Times bestselling author

"A five-year-old mystery and the best kind of love story are at the core of Sarina Bowen’s twisty new thriller The Five Year Lie, which explores one woman’s race toward the truth after receiving a text from her deceased ex. But this is more than just a twisty thriller. The Five Year Lie explores themes of loyalty and family, motherhood, and the tragedy of having to say goodbye too soon. I devoured this book in one day, and I guarantee you will too." — Julie Clark, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight and The Lies I Tell 

“An expertly woven story of love, revenge, and murder. In a world where so many books feel so similar - this was a refreshingly unique read and an addictive blend of love and mystery that I couldn’t put down. This is storytelling at its finest and I can’t recommend this book enough.”  — AR Torre, New York Times bestselling author of Every Last Secret

"Bowen . . . takes a confident step into the thriller genre with this engaging debut, which combines a fast pace and an intriguing plot with pointed commentary on the way useful technology can easily create a dangerous privacy nightmare. . . . the novel propels readers swiftly through the story, and Bowen never gets too bogged down in technical details. She adds just enough love and longing into the mix to please her romance-minded fans without scaring off the hardcore thriller addicts. . . . An engaging and fast-paced thriller about the abuse of technology." — Kirkus Reviews