The Song of Us (Hardcover)

**Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability above the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243**

The Song of Us By Kate Fussner Cover Image

The Song of Us (Hardcover)

$19.99


Special Order - Usually Arrives in 1-5 Days

This stunning debut and wholly original queer middle grade novel-in-verse retelling of “Orpheus and Eurydice” adds a new chorus to the songs of great love, perfect for fans of Other Words for Home and Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World.

Love at first sight isn’t a myth. For seventh graders Olivia and Eden, it’s fate. Olivia is a capital-P Poet, and Eden thinks she wants to be a musician one day, but for now she’s just the new girl. And then Eden shows up to Poetry Club and everything changes.

Eden isn’t out, and she has rules for dating Olivia: don’t call. Don’t tell her friends. And don’t let anyone know they’re together.

But when jealousy creeps in, it’s Olivia’s words that push Eden away. While Eden sets out to find herself, Olivia begins a journey to bring Eden back—using poetry. Both Olivia and Eden will learn just how powerful their words can be to bring them together . . . or tear them apart forever.

Kate Fussner (she/her) is a novelist, teacher, and accidental poet living in Massachusetts with her wife and dramatic dog. When not reading or writing, Kate can be found spending time with her family, baking, or singing her favorite musicals. Kate believes in the power of a good laugh and a good cry, and hopes her stories will provide readers with both.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063256941
ISBN-10: 0063256940
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: May 30th, 2023
Pages: 368
Language: English

"Immediate-feeling verse traces painful self-discovery and heady first love in Fussner’s debut, a queer retelling of “Orpheus and Eurydice.” Snappy verse embodies the girls’ achingly real alternating voices while thoughtfully considering topics such as coming out, mental health, parental abuse, and peer pressure. Hand this yearning-tinged slice-of-life romance to fans of Ashley Herring Blake and K.A. Holt." — Publishers Weekly

"This novel-in-verse retelling of Orpheus and Eurydice is so much more than a middle grade love story. Deep themes, such as depression, parental abandonment, and learning to define your true self are beautifully and honestly explored. This is a heady romance, a spectacular crash, and honest dialogue about doing things you don’t really want to because you crave the acceptance of a group. VERDICT This is a sad story, a hard story, an edgy story, but also a hopeful and important one that deserves a spot on the shelves of middle grade readers." — School Library Journal

In this gorgeous tale, Fussner delivers what feels like…a song. Of us. Of anyone who has ever been in love. Or anyone transformed by it. An impressive debut!Jason Reynolds, #1 New York Times bestselling author

A tender book about first crushes, peer pressure, and parental problems in middle school. Written in glorious verse, The Song of Us is an ode to love—love that defies expectations, overcomes disappointment, and transcends grief, love that springs in our hearts like song. — Rajani LaRocca, Newbery Honor-winning author of Red, White and Whole

“A stunning song of first love, heartache, and the freedom of knowing yourself. Eden and Olivia will linger in my heart.”  — Lambda literary award winning author Rebecca Podos