I'm Not Small Board Book (Board book)

**Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability above the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243**

Staff Pick Badge
I'm Not Small Board Book By Nina Crews, Nina Crews (Illustrator) Cover Image

I'm Not Small Board Book (Board book)

By Nina Crews, Nina Crews (Illustrator)

$9.99


On Our Shelves Now
5 on hand, as of May 25 10:06pm
(Baby General)

Staff Reviews


A great introduction to sizes and comparisons, this delightful board book is so sweet and filled with fun illustrations. Grown ups and kiddos alike will enjoy finding new details on each re-read!

— Chelsea

“Completely relatable for all viewers, big or small.”—The Horn Book (starred review)

“Crews captures the joy of early childhood exploration in a book that adults and children can both enjoy.”—ALA Booklist (starred review)

“A nice addition to story hours about relativity, size comparisons, and schoolyard science lessons.”School Library Journal

A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book

A Horn Book Fanfare Book

What makes you big? What makes you small? From acclaimed author-illustrator Nina Crews comes a board book that introduces young children to the concepts of size and comparisons. A great choice for emerging readers, school classrooms, and story-time sharing.

Time to play outside! It’s easy for a young boy to feel small in a world that is made up of big, big things. But when he takes a closer look, he discovers that he is big, too. His dog is smaller than he is, and his cat is smaller than his dog. And the teeny-tiny ant crawling through the grass? Even smaller!

I’m Not Small will spark family and classroom conversations about the concepts of size and size comparisons, about growing up, about feeling seen, and about observing the world around you. Playful text and bright, detailed illustrations also make it easy to learn about comparing and categorizing objects. A must-have for fans of Anna Kang and Christopher Weyant’s You Are (Not) Small.


Nina Crews is a highly acclaimed author-illustrator and the daughter of Donald Crews and Ann Jonas. Her picture book The Neighborhood Mother Goose was an ALA Notable Book, a School Library Journal Best Book, and a Parenting Magazine Book of the Year. She is also the author and artist of One Hot Summer Day, I'm Not Small, Snowball, and other titles. She lives with her family in Brooklyn, New York.



Nina Crews is a highly acclaimed author-illustrator and the daughter of Donald Crews and Ann Jonas. Her picture book The Neighborhood Mother Goose was an ALA Notable Book, a School Library Journal Best Book, and a Parenting Magazine Book of the Year. She is also the author and artist of One Hot Summer Day, I'm Not Small, Snowball, and other titles. She lives with her family in Brooklyn, New York.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063058279
ISBN-10: 0063058278
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: April 23rd, 2024
Pages: 36
Language: English

“A child greets the day with excitement, eager to go play outside. . . . But once out the door, the youngster feels—and looks, in the vast illustration featuring tall trees and open skies—very small. . . . Subsequent encounters with diminutive creatures (cat, bunny, birds, insects) remind the child that big and small are relative; that it’s possible to be both at once; and, in a warmhearted twist ending, that each has its own merits. . . . Completely relatable for all viewers, big or small.” — Horn Book (starred review)

“Charming . . . Encouraged by his clearly loving parents, who proclaim him a big kid, [a young boy] goes out to the yard on his own. At first, he feels small compared to the sky, the trees, and the backyard. Then, he finds that he is bigger than many things: his dog and cat, his rabbit, a scary bee . . . When he is lifted inside by his mother, the narrator is happy to still be small. . . . Crews captures the joy of early childhood exploration in a book that adults and children can both enjoy.”  — Booklist (starred review)

“Asa . . . is a big kid now—he’s going outside to play by himself for the first time. Only, everything outside is so big! . . . His quiet contemplation of all things in nature is both soothing and inspiring . . . Crews’s textured and collaged illustrations create a sense of nostalgia and whimsy, especially at the end when we can all relate as Asa remembers he enjoys being a little kid again. This is a nice addition to story hours about relativity, size comparisons, and schoolyard science lessons.” — School Library Journal

“[A] child encounters his family’s backyard alone in this experiential exploration of relative size. . . . Despite his newfound autonomy, though, he quickly notices that his stature is small . . . A second turnabout occurs on subsequent pages, which show the child’s comparative size against the family’s pets—a dog, cat, and rabbit—and diminutive birds and insects . . . Crews renders her story of a kid finding his place in a variably sized world through vividly sketched, textural digital collage whose lens zooms in and out to portray moments of adventure, exploration, and safety in the wide world.” — Publishers Weekly