The Smashed Man of Dread End (Hardcover)

Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability beneath the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243.

Staff Pick Badge
The Smashed Man of Dread End Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
4 on hand, as of Sep 23 10:03pm

Staff Reviews


I've always loved dark stories. When I was young, Zilpha Keatley Snyder was a favorite. This book is definitely the next Headless Cupid, though all the supernatural is real this time. The images are scary and the characters are relatable and cool.

— sissy

Description


A chilling middle grade horror perfect for fans of R.L. Stine and Holly Black alike.

Noe Wiley couldn’t be more excited to move. After the slumber party sleepwalking incident of last year, she’s ready to make some new friends.

But Noe didn’t expect the sullen, strange girls who live on her new street. And she certainly didn’t expect the strange warning they give her—to stay out of her basement, no matter what.

Noe’s not going to let these girls boss her around. She’ll go in her own basement whenever she wants.

So she does. And there he is.

And now there’s no going back.

About the Author


J.W. Ocker is the Lowell Thomas– and Edgar Award–winning author of macabre travelogues, spooky kids’ books, and horror novels. His books include Poe-Land, A Season with the Witch, Death and Douglas, and The Smashed Man of Dread End. J. W. Ocker lives in New Hampshire.

Praise For…


"The imaginative and truly horrifying monster at its center makes this tale stand out."
Kirkus Reviews

"An eerie tale... readers of this effectively spine-tingling piece of horror will find it hard to ignore their own dark corners."
Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062990525
ISBN-10: 0062990527
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: August 17th, 2021
Pages: 304
Language: English