Dogs at Work: Good Dogs. Real Jobs. (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Dogs at Work: Good Dogs. Real Jobs. Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
6 on hand, as of Oct 18 10:03pm

Staff Reviews


Good dogs work! I work. I love work. Busy all the time. My folks were herders and kept all the sheep in line. I keep all the staff and customers in line at Parnassus. They wander and I have to bring them back — and jump through hoops and shake hands and read with the children. Children should read this book. Sit! Read! Love dogs!

— Marlee

May/June 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“Great illustrations and dog lovers will appreciate it.”
— Kristine Jelstrom-Hamill, Buttonwood Books and Toys, Cohasset, MA

Description


A fun and educational picture book about all the real jobs dogs can have, by popular author Margaret Cardillo (Just Being Audrey) and bestselling artist Zachariah OHora (Wolfie the Bunny). Perfect for fans of Children Make Terrible Pets, Rescue and Jessica: A Life-Changing Friendship, and dog lovers of all ages.

Have you ever wondered what dogs do all day when their people leave for school or their jobs?

What if they went to work, too . . . ?

This clever picture book describes all the real jobs that dogs do. From a therapy dog to a mayor dog and even a lobster-diving dog, the possibilities will surprise you!

But, of course, there is one job that dogs love more than any other: being a best friend.

About the Author


Margaret Cardillo is a children’s book author, a screenwriter, and a professor. She’s the author of the award-winning picture book biographies Just Being Audrey and Just Being Jackie. A native of Naples, Florida, she holds degrees from Boston College and the University of Miami, where she now teaches screenwriting. She lives in Miami with her family, including Zampano, her rescue dog. She believes they are soul mates. (Her husband understands.) You can visit her online at www.margaretcardillo.com.



Zachariah Ohora is the illustrator of the New York Times bestselling book Wolfie the Bunny by Ame Dyckman. He is the author and illustrator of a number of award-winning books, including the Parent Trap for cats epic Niblet & Ralph, which was featured on the Today show. He lives in Narberth, Pennsylvania, with his wife, two sons, two cats, and a dog named Waffles. Visit him online at www.zohora.com or on IG @fuzzytown.

Praise For…


“Each image reminds readers of what they love best about their pooches: their tenacity and steadfastness, whether at home or on the job.”
Publishers Weekly

“Charmingly flipping the notion of imagining what dogs may do or feel while their people are away, this playful picture book also provides an entertaining approach to introducing various working dogs and their jobs in an affectionate homage to various contributions to human lives, beyond just being beloved companions. Delightful, vibrant, and boldly outlined illustrations extend the text, depicting an inclusive array of dogs, children, and adults and incorporating amusing details (one building’s address is “K9”) and sweet moments.”
Booklist

“The joy in the illustrations is palpable, and seeing the many ways dogs help humans will be especially touching to dog lovers…. A solid choice for dog lovers and those who want to better appreciate how dogs help humans.”
Kirkus Reviews

“In this entertaining picture book, the skills used in actual jobs done by all kinds of very good dogs—from therapy dog to truffle-sniffing dog to (somewhat alarmingly!) dog mayor—are shown in parallel to the traits that make canines great companions.”
— Horn Book Magazine


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062906311
ISBN-10: 0062906313
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: June 22nd, 2021
Pages: 40
Language: English

Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability beneath the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243.