Serpent & Dove (Hardcover)

Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability beneath the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243.

Staff Pick Badge
Serpent & Dove Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
6 on hand, as of Dec 11 1:45pm
(Young Adult)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Serpent & Dove series.

Staff Reviews


A witch on the run ends up stuck in a sham marriage with a witch hunter duty-bound to kill her if her secret is exposed (if she doesn’t kill him for being an uptight jerk first). A complex web of lies, magic, and family secrets makes this one a real page-turner.

— Kay

Fall 2019 Kids Indie Next List


“Can love really mend centuries-old wounds or does it truly make fools of us all? Full of magic, danger, and secrets, Serpent and Dove shines a light on the imperfections humanity possesses — that no one person or group is always right, that we all have the ability to do good or evil, and that it is our choices and actions that reveal our hearts. A pleasure from start to finish, I couldn’t put it down! If you’re a fan of Sarah J. Maas, you will love this book!”
— Ashley Conti, The Family Book Shop, DeLand, FL

Description


An Amazon Best Book of 2019!

New York Times Bestseller

B&N's YA Book Club Pick 

Indiebound Bestseller

#6 on the 2019 Kids’ Indie Next List

"A brilliant debut, full of everything I love: a sparkling and fully realized heroine, an intricate and deadly system of magic, and a searing romance that kept me reading long into the night. Serpent & Dove is an absolute gem of a book." —Sarah J. Maas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Court of Thorns and Roses series

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave readers burning for more.

New York Times Bestseller

B&N's YA Book Club Pick 

Indiebound Bestseller

#6 on the 2019 Kids’ Indie Next List

About the Author


Shelby Mahurin grew up on a small farm in rural Indiana, where sticks became wands and cows became dragons. Her rampant imagination didn’t fade with age, so she continues to play make-believe every day—with words now instead of cows. She still lives near that childhood farm with her very tall husband and semiferal children. Serpent & Dove is her debut novel. Visit her online at www.shelbymahurin.com.

Praise For…


“Drips with intrigue and shadow.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A brilliant debut, full of everything I love: a sparkling and fully-realized heroine, an intricate and deadly system of magic, and a searing romance that kept me reading long into the night. Serpent & Dove is an absolute gem of a book.”
— Sarah J Maas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Court of Thorns and Roses series

“Will cast a spell on romance fans.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Mahurin has taken the witch and witch hunter trope and made it new again. The world-building will draw in readers and Lou’s strong but wistful nature will keep them turning pages.”
— School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062878021
ISBN-10: 0062878026
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: September 3rd, 2019
Pages: 528
Language: English
Series: Serpent & Dove