Wild Blue Wonder (Hardcover)

Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability beneath the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243.

Wild Blue Wonder Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
22 on hand, as of Dec 18 4:40am
(Young Adult)

Description


"It's the rarest author who can pull off laugh-out-loud hilarious, profound, and breathlessly romantic, all in the most sparkling prose. That shortlist includes Rainbow Rowell, Nicola Yoon, and now, Carlie Sorosiak."Jeff Zentner, Morris Award-winning author of The Serpent King and Goodbye Days

Last June, the summer camp Quinn’s family owns in Winship, Maine, was still a magical place. A place where wild blueberries grew no matter the season, a legendary sea monster lurked in the waters, and Quinn fell in love with her best friend, Dylan. Then the accident happened.

Now it’s winter, the magic has drained from Quinn’s life, and she knows it’s her fault. But the new boy in town, Alexander, doesn’t see her as the monster she believes herself to be. As Quinn lets herself open up again, she begins to understand the truth about love, loss, and monsters—real and imagined.

Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson, Jenny Han, and Jandy Nelson, this wondrous novel was proclaimed “a striking examination of love—of friends, of family, of self—as well as of grief” by ALA Booklist in a starred review.

About the Author


Carlie Sorosiak is the author of If Birds Fly Back and Wild Blue Yonder. She grew up in North Carolina and holds two master’s degrees: one in English from Oxford University and another in creative writing and publishing from City University London. Her life goals include traveling to all seven continents and fostering many polydactyl cats. She currently splits her time between the United States and the United Kingdom, hoping to gain an accent like Madonna’s. Visit her online at www.carliesorosiak.com.

Praise For…


★ “A striking examination of love—of friends, of family, of self—as well as of grief. This is a soft and lovely exploration of how life can freeze at the point of tragedy, and of a girl who learns to thaw.”
— ALA Booklist (starred review)

“This depiction of first love, collective loss, and the complicated nature of sibling relationships surges with emotion. Sorosiak has created a family whom readers will connect with in all their messy, genuine sincerity.”
— Publishers Weekly

“Lovely and heartbreaking.”
— Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and Windfall

Wild Blue Wonder is a glittering dream of a book. It captured my heart with its equal strokes of grief, beauty, and hope.”
— Emily Bain Murphy, author of The Disappearances

“Filled with science, summer camps and secrets, this is an uplifting and touching look at grief, guilt and giving yourself permission to love again.”
— Lauren James, author of The Loneliest Girl in the Universe

“A great work of realistic fiction.”
— School Library Journal

“A beautiful story.”
— Bustle

“This stunning novel about love, loss, and lake monsters is just the excuse you need to splurge on a summer must-read.”
— Brit + Co

Praise for If Birds Fly Back: “It’s the rarest author who can pull off laugh-out-loud hilarious, profound, and breathlessly romantic, all in the most sparkling prose. That shortlist includes Rainbow Rowell, Nicola Yoon, and now, Carlie Sorosiak.”
— Jeff Zentner, critically acclaimed author of The Serpent King and Goodbye Days


“A uniquely dazzling love story—sunshine flows through every electric page, and into your heart. Carlie Sorosiak writes with neon prose.”
— Harriet Reuter Hapgood, author of The Square Root of Summer

“Should resonate with fans of Morgan Matson, John Green, and Rainbow Rowell.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Will hook fans of John Green, Sarah Dessen, and Jenny Han.”
— School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062563996
ISBN-10: 0062563998
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: June 26th, 2018
Pages: 368
Language: English