An Independent Bookstore
For Independent People

Find a Book

Karen Recommends

Karen Hayes

Karen Hayes, Co-Owner

Karen moved to Nashville when she was twelve years old and it made her very happy. She has lived here ever since, except for a short stint in Italy, which she loved, but she was still very happy to come back to Nashville. Her charmed life continued when she fell by chance into the book business at the age of twenty. She has never left it (except for that stint in Italy). Besides reading, Karen loves travel, the outdoors, music, photography and her friends.

The Age of Desire (Hardcover)

$27.95
ISBN-13: 9780670023684
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Pamela Dorman Books, 8/2012
Did you know that Edith Wharton had an affair in her mid-forties that was documented in her diary and in her letters to her lover Morton Fullerton and her friend Henry James? This novel, based on those documents, brings to life what her life during that time period might have been like. It is also the story of the relationship between her and her governess turned secretary, Anna Bahlmann. For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank. We felt so strongly about this book that we made it the Parnassus Signed First Editions selection for September 2012.

$12.00
ISBN-13: 9780226500669
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University Of Chicago Press, 10/2001
I recently read a book that has been a bestseller for us since the date we opened called The All of It. After finishing this 140 page gem, I immediately thought of the perfection of a novella I had read decades earlier, A River Runs Through It. Both books weave fly fishing into the story and both books tell a full and satisfying tale in a minimum of pages. If you haven't yet discovered either of these books, set aside a couple of evenings to read them both. You will be glad you did.

$18.00
ISBN-13: 9781582346038
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury USA, 8/2005
For those of you who loved The Night Circus, this is the book that Erin Morgenstern says heavily influenced her. Don't let the size put you off. It has be big, because you will want to crawl inside and live there while you read it.

Property (Paperback)

$15.00
ISBN-13: 9780375713309
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage, 4/2004
Valerie Martin vividly illustrates the world of the 1820s Antebellum south. There is no sentimentality in her telling though. Through the relationship between a slave and her owners she shows how corrosive the practice of slavery was. This is a short book with three strong characters and a powerful storyline that will stay with you a long time.

$15.95
ISBN-13: 9780307477477
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor, 5/2011
In A Visit From the Goon Squad, Egan moves with great agility back and forth in time revealing the stories of each of her characters.

The Night Circus (Hardcover)

$28.95
ISBN-13: 9780385534635
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Doubleday, 9/2011

Nightwoods (Hardcover)

$26.00
ISBN-13: 9781400067091
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Random House, 10/2011

The Marriage Plot (Hardcover)

$28.00
ISBN-13: 9780374203054
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 10/2011