YA author event with S.F. Henson and Heather Kaczynski

Parnassus Books is pleased to welcome YA authors S.F. Henson and Heather Kaczynski for a discussion and signing of their new books, Devils Within and Dare Mighty Things.

More About S.F. Henson and Devils Within:

Killing isn't supposed to be easy. But it is. It's the after that's hard to deal with. Nate was eight the first time he stabbed someone; he was eleven when he earned his red laces--a prize for spilling blood for "the cause." And he was fourteen when he murdered his father (and the leader of The Fort, a notorious white supremacist compound) in self-defense, landing in a treatment center while the state searched for his next of kin. Now, in the custody of an uncle he never knew existed, who wants nothing to do with him, Nate just wants to disappear. 

Enrolled in a new school under a false name, so no one from The Fort can find him, he struggles to forge a new life, trying to learn how to navigate a world where people of different races interact without enmity. But he can't stop awful thoughts from popping into his head, or help the way he shivers with a desire to commit violence. He wants to be different--he just doesn't know where to start.
Then he meets Brandon, a person The Fort conditioned Nate to despise on sight. But Brandon's also the first person to treat him like a human instead of a monster. Brandon could never understand Nate's dark past, so Nate keeps quiet. And it works for a while. But all too soon, Nate's worlds crash together, and he must decide between his own survival and standing for what's right, even if it isn't easy. Even if society will never be able to forgive him for his sins.

Like a teen American History X, S.F. Henson's Devils Within is gut-wrenching, thought-provoking, no-holds-barred look at the plague of white supremacy in contemporary American culture that may have you examining your own soul.

S.F. Henson is an attorney living in Alabama with her husband, two cats, and a dog. Devils Within is her first novel. 

More About Heather Kaczynski and Dare Mighty Things:

The rules are simple: You must be gifted. You must be younger than twenty-five. You must be willing to accept the dangers that you will face if you win.

Eighteen-year-old Cassandra Gupta's entire life has been leading up to this -- the opportunity to travel to space. But to secure a spot on this classified mission, she must first compete against the best and brightest people on the planet. People who are as determined as she is to win a place on a journey to the farthest reaches of the universe.

Cassie is ready for the toll that the competition will take; the rigorous mental and physical tests designed to push her to the brink of her endurance. But nothing could have prepared her for the bonds she would form with the very people she hopes to beat. Or that with each passing day it would be more and more difficult to ignore the feeling that the true objective of the mission is being kept from her.

As the days until the launch tick down and the stakes rise higher than ever before, only one thing is clear to Cassie: she'll never back down ... even if it costs her everything. Perfect for fans of The Selection and The 5th Wave, Dare Mighty Things is the first book in a heart-racing debut duology.

Heather Kaczynski writes books for teenagers and other people who like books about teenagers. They're usually about teenagers saving the world, because she really believes they can. Heather never got to go to space camp, so she had to settle for writing Space Camp. After graduating cum laude with a degree in biology, she returned to her first love of books, and she now works in a library near NASA. She lives with her husband, their daughter, and way too many books. She's not nearly brave enough to go into space, but she did twirl a fire baton in high school.

Event date: 
Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
Parnassus Books
3900 Hillsboro Pike Suite 14
Nashville, TN 37215
Devils Within Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781510714564
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sky Pony Press - October 31st, 2017

Dare Mighty Things Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062479860
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Teen - October 10th, 2017