Author event with Tracy Barrett, author of Marabel and the Book of Fate

Parnassus Books is thrilled to host Nashville author Tracy Barrett, who will discuss and sign her new book, Marabel and the Book of Fate, a charming, action-packed, and magical story ideal for fans of Ella Enchanted and Dealing with Dragons. Read on for more information about the event, the book, and the author!

Event Guidelines

This event is free and open to the public. To join the signing line and have books signed by the author at this event, please consider purchasing Marabel and the Book of Fate from Parnassus Books. A selection of the author's previous titles will be available for purchase at the event as supplies last. 

Video recording, audio recording, and/or live-streaming during author appearances and signings is not possible without prior written permission from the publisher and Parnassus Books.

Can't make it to the event, but still want to purchase an autographed or personalized book? Place your order below, enter "signed copy" plus any personalization details in the comments section of your order, and we'll have the author sign your books and ship them to you after the event!

More about Marabel and the Book of Fate

In Magikos, life is dictated by the Book of Fate's ancient predictions, including the birth of a royal Chosen One who will save the realm. Princess Marabel has grown up in the shadow of her twin brother, Marco, who everyone assumes is the true Chosen One. While Marco is adored and given every opportunity, Marabel is overlooked and has to practice her sword fighting in secret.

But on the night of their thirteenth birthday, Marco is kidnapped by an evil queen, and Marabel runs to his rescue. Outside the castle walls for the first time, accompanied by her best friend and a very smug unicorn, Marabel embarks on a daring mission that brings her face-to-face with fairies, trolls, giants -- and the possibility that all is not as it seems in Magikos.

School Library Journal raves, "this fantasy title empowers as much as it entertains," while Publishers Weekly says Marabel "pits fate against free will, touches on prejudice and patriarchy, has fun with fairy tale tropes, and offers food for thought on an array of valuable topics."

More about Tracy Barrett

Tracy Barrett is the author of numerous acclaimed and award-winning books for young readers, including Anna of ByzantiumThe Stepsister's Tale, and King of Ithaka. She lives in Nashville.

Event date: 
Saturday, February 10, 2018 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
Parnassus Books
3900 Hillsboro Pike Suite 14
Nashville, TN 37215
Marabel and the Book of Fate Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316433990
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - February 6th, 2018