Author event with Gavriel Savit author of Anna and the Swallow Man

Parnassus Books is excited to welcome Gavriel Savit as he reads from and signs Anna and the Swallow Man.

A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of The Book Thief.
 
Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She’s alone.  And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see. The Swallow Man is not Anna’s father—she knows that very well—but she also knows that, like her father, he’s in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness. Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. 

Gavriel Savit holds a BFA in musical theater from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, where he grew up. As an actor and singer, Gavriel has performed on three continents, from New York to Brussels to Tokyo. He lives in Brooklyn. This is his first novel.

Event date: 
Monday, February 8, 2016 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
Parnassus Books
3600 Hillsboro Pike, Suite 14
Nashville, TN 37215
Anna and the Swallow Man Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780553513349
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - January 26th, 2016