The Eyre Affair (Compact Disc)

Book listings on our website do not always reflect the current availability of books on our store shelves. Check a book's in-store availability beneath the "add to cart" button. Or to be certain that a book you've found on our website is also here on our shelves, feel free to call us at 615-953-2243.

The Eyre Affair Cover Image
$39.95
Special Order

Description


The first installment in Jasper Fforde's "New York Times "bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England
Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it's a bibliophile's dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Bronte's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix. Thursday's zany investigations continue with six more bestselling Thursday Next novels, including "One of Our Thursdays is Missing" and the upcoming "The Woman Who Died A Lot." Visit jasperfforde.com.

About the Author


Jasper Fforde traded a varied career in the film industry for staring vacantly out of the window and arranging words on a page. He lives and writes in Wales. The "Eyre Affair" was his first novel in the bestselling "Thursday Next" series. He is also the author of the "Nursery Crime" series.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143145707
Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks
Publication Date: December 1st, 2009